CONCEPT & IDEATION TASK 2: SPACE AND TIME.

For this assignment we was set the task of looking into David Hockney and also long and short exposure.

David Hockney has a variety of photo collages in which he breaks the image into small squares before re-structuring it, to give it a more abstract and interesting effect. After looking at some of his work I decided I would try it on a image of a Autumn tree as I felt the vibrant colours and scenery made it a interesting collage.

Below is my take on a David Hockney style collage next to a picture of the original image:

Original Autumn Tree mosaic

To do this I used photoshop CS5, and created a grid using a pattern pre-set I made before. After laying the grid over the image, I used the magic wand tool to select each square chunk and separate it from the original image into a new layer. After doing each square I moved them and lowered the opacity slightly to give a overlapping effect, I also added a slight drop shadow to make each square seem more individual and break up the image more.

Long Exposure: 

For this I thought I would first look at motion blur and take pictures experimenting with different lengths of exposure. At first I took photos of my friend playing football, and over exposed the photos to give a blur effect of him, as shown in the images below:

Long Exposure 2 Long Exposure

After this I started to move on from motion blur and look more into light as well, and particularly light painting. At first I was just moving the camera while exposing it while the lights where on and also having people move in the background, which is shown in the two images below.

motion/lightblur2Motion/lightblur

After doing this I wanted to try light painting for myself, so I turned my room into a dark room and used pieces of different colour plastic over the torch on my phone to get different colours, I then started with trying to draw a stickman and also a tree, I then moved onto a house which proved to be a lot harder, as I had to cover the light and move the position to draw certain parts such as the windows. below shows my created images from doing this, after a few attempts on each:

stickman/lightdrawingtree/lightdrawinghouse/lightdrawing

Short Exposure:

As my final part of this task I looked at short exposure and capturing action shots, going back to the same area as capturing my friend playing football I asked him to repeat the same tricks but this time I captured them with a short exposure.

josh/football2josh/footyjosh/football3

Leave a Reply

