DEVELOPMENT AND REALISATION: DATA RESEARCH

After initially looking over the brief I feel the next best step would be to research into the Data that is already around, and collect what I will be using within the poster itself. I chose to do this step next as its a good starting point to help me know what I will be putting in the poster and from this helping me to think of ways to compare the data, such as creating the right vector to show it as accurately as possible and interesting to the audience at the same time.

Firstly I looked at the countries around the world and their average BMI’s, looking at many different sites and finding a lot of data was conflicting and not accurate, also no data since 2008. After looking around I found a site called ‘ChartsBin,’ This site seemed to have the most accurate data corresponding with other sites I looked at and also the most up-to-date. It also gave me a area which allowed me to search individual countries.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 03.16.28

Looking at the top countries I straight away felt this was going to be a problem in presenting my data, as the majority are small countries that are likely to be not known to the consumer or they may not be interested in.

With this in mind I begun to look at Life Expectancy Data. After quickly searching Life Expectancy I went onto the site ‘World health organisation,’ I chose this site as its a very well known site and a agency of the United Nation, thus the information was going to be accurate.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 03.19.04.png

Above is a image of the site and you can also see that the data is from 1990-2013, which is a lot more current than the 2008 data of BMI. With this also in mind and thinking that comparing the 2 may be inaccurate I went to look around the site for more current research on BMI.

While looking on the site for more current BMI’s I found a data set for the prevalence of people overweight (BMI of over 25) in the world, the data is also a lot more current (2010 – 2014). It also allowed me to break the data down to regions such as Europe, as seen below.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 03.35.08.png

Looking at the data above as well the prevalence is a lot higher numerically than average BMI’s and closer numerically to Life expectancy. With all this in mind I chose to slightly changed the direction of my Poster, and focus it more on the prevalence as I think it would be a good idea when comparing the 2 data sets. It allows me as a designer to make the comparison more interesting and opens more opportunities, I also chose to focus on Europe.

Next I decided to break the countries down even more into the European Union, this I felt was a good idea as it allows it to be more personal to the consumer and also allow me to create vectors that can be personal.

Below are the top 10 EU countries with the highest BMI provenance and the corresponding life expectancy of that country, these are the countries I have chosen to base my data on. All the data below was collected from ‘World Health Organisation.’

As I chose to do the whole country, male and female they are broke down to (All, Male Female) I chose to do this as it gives me more data to later play around with on the vectors and allows me to create more so the poster is more visually interesting to the audience.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

