DEVELOPMENT AND REALISATION: THE POSTER

With all the research complete and the base idea of the poster created, next is to begin creating the poster itself and changing certain initial idea aspects so they fit the brief better and also so the poster works well.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 05.32.22

Above is a image showing what vectors I created first and this was fast food vectors of what carries the biggest connotations for obesity, these were a burger, chips and drink. The vectors are heavily related to McDonalds as it is considered the brand with the biggest link to obesity. McDonalds also gives me a way of tapping into the audience subconsciously and making them relate obesity and the vectors with both McDonalds and the poster itself. while creating the vectors which are based off the image above the vectors in my screenshot I changed the images so that they could be used as bar graphs, you can see in the bottom right corner my first idea for how the layout will be in the final poster. However I chose to discard this as I feel it takes away that impact of size means more and how using the large chips can allow me to represent the data better and show larger consumption. The inside of the burger will also be stretched to a size depending on the data, and the milkshake will be made taller or shorter.

Next I wanted a interesting way of correlating the data with the country it is aimed at. So i begun to create detailed vector flags for each country I would be displaying. Below is image of the flags I created:

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 05.41.06

The flags I feel is a way of the posters consumer quickly identifying the data with the corresponding country, it also allows them to relate to it more if the country is where they are from as its something they are extremely familiar with. My first idea was to put the individual countries into a flag on a stick and put these into the burgers individually.

Below are some images of the flags being created:

With the flags set aside for the moment I moved onto the Layout, creating a storyboard sort of layout for the poster. However with this done I started to become worried with one problem in to different ways, the problem was space.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 05.49.57

The image above shows my storyboard layout with one section at the start for a title and anything else I see fit. Looking at this straight away I felt limited to a small amount of space for each country, this worried me in that in each cell I want to show 3 different sets of data and include 3 different vectors. Another issue I had was with the large amount of space in the background, so next I worked on creating something that could relate to meeting the brief and also make the background more interesting.

I wanted to create a Image that would sit in the background faintly and relate to the macro overview (the consumer), and how the products shown as vectors show obesity and the consumer getting larger. Playing around with ideas in my head I quickly came up with one that I thought would be great to show what is mentioned above. The idea was to create a Van vector and a Obese person, with the van pouring burgers into the obese persons mouth. Below are the images I used to base my vectors on and the outcome of my vectors.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 06.00.22Metro_delivery_van_1476-electric-delivery-van

My Vectors:

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 21.46.42Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 15.42.32Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 15.03.40

The last image shows how I put it together on the final design, I feel that straight away this makes the poster more interesting. It also helps use up space and also shows the consumer going on a journey as the burger will pour out the truck down the road track and into the mouth of the obese person.

Next I begun to fill each cell with what would be used to show the data. Below is a image of the layout that will be in each cell.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 06.12.50.png

One worry I had here was relating back to improper scaling, however instead of making the burgers or other vectors bigger, I will just stretch the high of them and leave the image size and starting point the same so that the height reflects directly the the numerical value of the data.

Looking over this I noticed that the flags’s are going to be extremely small on top of the burger and the finer detail of the flag will be completely overlooked and it may be incomprehensible what the flag the country is from. Another issue I had was that there is a lot of white space. So instead of pinning the flag to the top of the poster I decided to make each cell’s background the flag of the country.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 06.18.25

This I feel not only gives me a chance to showcase the vector more, but also a way of structuring a narrative across the storyboard styled cells for the audience to follow, it also makes the cell stand out more as a country and at a glimpse allows the audience to know what country it is. It also correlates with the micro detail of the audience and making it more personal to them.

Putting the data into each cell was the next part and defiantly the most challenging part of the poster creatively. As with nearly every infographic poster I looked at prior to this I wanted to show the data as a bar chart without using a numbered scale. This initially proved challenging working out the middle point and adjusting each piece of data so they was accurate with one and another.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 23.53.27

Ignoring the truck and obese man vector, and focusing on the fast food images, it’s hard to really notice the difference in hight between the vectors at first glance. This is because all the numbers are very similar and some only vary with 1 numerical value, and this made it hard to really portray this. However I felt that using any type of graph or bar chart and still wanting to use vectors would make showing the slight increase hard in any instance so this was still the best possible idea.

Now looking at the truck and obese man vectors, you can see they have been repositioned and the road has been removed. This was done as I felt the road didn’t properly show them going into the mouth and also didn’t really make sense. However I still wanted to use this as I felt it is great way of showing that journey and macro overview, so from this I decided to move the man to the bottom of the screen and leave the truck at the top with it pouring burgers into his mouth.

With the poster starting to slowly come together as a whole my next focus was on how the audience will read the poster and interpret the information in front of them without using a block of text to explain it. This is when I had the idea of creating a price tag vector that I could link to each individual image so the audience can quickly pick out the data more accurately without having to throughly look at the poster and work it out.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 06.42.37

The image above shows one cell of the poster, and with the price tags I feel it really helps to show the divide in numbers a lot better and helps the audience quickly pick it out, while still visually comparing the BMI prevalence to life expectancy. The tags are also something I would consider to be something normal that would be seen on a menu and thus doesn’t seem to far fetched or take away the ‘Menu layout,’ of the poster.

Lastly leading up to the final design of the poster I needed a way of showing the 3 different data sets which are:

Whole country Fat prevalence, Whole country life expectancy.

Male fat prevalence in that country, and the life expectancy.

Female fat prevalence in that country and the life expectancy.

So using the price tags and the vectors corresponding to each data set I created a small ‘key,’ at the top of the page under the title.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 06.51.42.png

The key is as shown above. The key is a big factor in helping the audience to digest the information throughout the poster and also shows how the poster should be read. The key is made so the audience knows which vector means what and what order the fat prevalence and the life expectancy are compared. The key also outlines that the bun on the burger and the straw in the drink, do not actually relate to the bar charts hight. However with this said the data is still accurate if this is looked over.

 

Leave a Reply

